It’s Monday-ish! What Are You Reading? 11/29/16

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

So I could say that I was so busy Sunday and last night that I didn’t get a chance to write my post but the truth is that I just put the electric blanket on the loveseat and the cats and I zoned out and barely moved from that warm place. Still, I did some reading while I was seated there 😉

Last Week’s Books:

High School & up: The Death and Life of Zebulon Finch: Empire Decayed  by Daniel Kraus is a genre-buster of an epic tale that looks at life in the 21st century, told through the eyes of undead, forever-17 Zebulon Finch. In this final volume, readers experience the Vietnam War, Woodstock, a disturbing commune, and more in ways that will not soon be forgotten. Kraus is a magnificent storyteller who never ceases to disturb, but who also never ceases to provoke much thought. Older teens who are willing to put in the effort will find this a fascinating book. This book counts for my Horror Reading Challenge 2016–although it is a genre-buster, there are definitely horror elements.

Adult: Defending Jacob by William Landay is the story of a District Attorney  who finds his son accused of murder, and the ensuing defense of the troubled young man. It was an interesting read, but not as good as I expected it to be. This book counts for my Surprise Me! Challenge 2016.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

 

Leave a Reply

