It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/3/16

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

I was perusing at Barnes and Noble when the cool cover of Penguin Problems by Jory John caught my eye. And then I saw Lane Smith’s name. So I sat awhile and read this wonderful picture book. The plot is simple. A penguin is complaining about every annoying about his life. A walrus overhears and reminds him of all the good things. The penguin starts appreciate the good things…until waking up tired the next morning…. I think this book is something we can all relate to, and I will consider purchasing it for my middle schools and recommending as a discussion starter.


Gennifer Choldenko’s Chasing Secrets is an engaging account of turn-of-the-century San Francisco. The main action revolves around a suspected outbreak of bubonic plague and the subsequent quarantine of San Francisco’s Chinatown district. Choldenko has much to say about gender roles  and race relations during this time, and it is woven expertly into the story of 13-year-old Lizzie Kennedy, a doctor’s daughter who wants to enter the medical profession herself one day, and Noah, the son of Jing, the cook, who has been in hiding to escape the quarantine. Lest it sound like I think the book is all about teaching good lessons, I will also say that it is a great mystery/adventure with strong, vibrant characters that readers will grow to love. I am not someone who often chooses to read historical fiction, and this audiobook kept me enraptured from beginning to end.

Currently Reading:

On Deck:

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/3/16

Leave a Reply

