It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/12/16

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Book:

High School: It is hard for me to describe just how much I love Andrew Smith’s novels. I know I am late in the game coming to this one (hence, not a lot of summary here), but I enjoyed it nearly as much as Grasshopper Jungle, my introduction to Smith’s work. Voice in YA books is such a critical component, and the voices of Smith’s teenage boy protagonists are very tough to beat. In Winger, Ryan Dean felt so much like a real person I kept wondering how much of his character might be based on the author himself. Although I have never been 1) a teenage boy 2) on a rugby team 3) enrolled in boarding school, I felt like I was living those experiences right along with Ryan Dean. The comics sprinkled throughout really added to the pervasive humor of the book. And yet, when things got serious, I felt like I got punched in the gut and worried what was going to happen next. Happily, I have my own copy of Stand Off , the sequel, to read very soon–and a library card to get to his other works I haven’t read yet.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/12/16

  1. I just requested for a copy of Stand Off – simply because I don’t want to read my review copy of Winger without that one waiting in the sidelines. 🙂 I love Andrew Smith’s novels – #keepYAweird indeed.

Leave a Reply

