It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/5/16

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Book:

Oblivion by Sasha Dawn is an Illinois Reads 2016 selection for grades 9-12. It is the story of Callie, a teenage girl in foster care after she was found the previous year in an abandoned apartment scrawling “I killed him” all over the walls on the same night her father, a reverend, and a young girl disappeared. Although she has been seeing a therapist, Callie’s graphomania has continued to be a problem, and she must carry a notebook and red felt-tipped pens with her everywhere she goes. As she tries to navigate high school and relationships with her same-age foster sister, boyfriend, and classmate/new love interest, John, Callie is also trying to use her writing and regain her memories to solve the mystery of what happened that fateful night and what role, if any, she played in the disappearances. I found the mystery intriguing and enjoyed the twist at the end, but I think the story  got a little bogged down by the love quadrangle. However, I can see many high school students enjoying this suspenseful thriller.

Currently Reading/Listening To: 

On Deck:

 

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/5/16

    1. For Oblivion, I was way more interested in the mystery and do the love stuff was getting in the way–I am not much of a romance reader anyway. On another note, I am really loving the audiobook of A Night Divided so far.

  1. A Night Divided was so good. It’s not a time in history my students know anything about! Pretty much anything JN does is fabulous. I have Scourge on my Kindle but I’m so behind!

Leave a Reply

