It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/29/16

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

I am reviewing All Good Children by Catherine Austen for School Library Media Connection, so they get first dibs. I will say that I enjoyed this dystopian tale, and if I had to give it a soundtrack it would be Pink Floyd’s The Wall.


Adult graphic novel: The Chair by Peter Simeti is a graphic novel I stumbled upon reading about and later learned would be turned into a horror movie. So the newly-released version (which I read) includes not only the original graphic novel but also the entire screenplay for the film. The story takes place in a horrifying prison where Sullivan, an innocent man, must endure not only harsh treatment, but the knowledge that guards are inflicting horrific punishments on his fellow inmates. As Sullivan’s execution date grows nearer, he is driven to equally horrific acts against his captors. This psychological thriller of a horror story is made even more terrifying by the violent, gory images accompanying it. I have to say, though, that if you are a horror fan who plans to see the movie and hates spoilers, you should hold off on reading the graphic novel. I would rather have gone into the movie “cold” without knowing some crucial plot points. This book counts for my Aigust Surprise Me! Challenge. This book also counts for my Horror Reading Challenge 2016. In fact, I have completed my challenge, earning the Horror Hound badge 🙂

Currently Reading:

On Deck:

7 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/29/16

  1. I finished N.K. Jemisin’s The Obelisk Gate the other day – it was good, but no where near as good as the 1st book in the series, maybe this one suffers from “middle book syndrome”?, and I’m about half way through Darwin’s Children by Greg Bear. Two sequels – and it’s weird, I found lots of similarities between them, such as misunderstood children, families being separated, genetic secrets, all very sad but very compelling!

Leave a Reply

