It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 8/22/16

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

I finished listening to I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson on the drive into my second day back to school and I had to just sit in the car for a few minutes before I could go in. What a beautifully outstanding book–and well-deserving of the Printz Award. Twins Jude and Noah were thick as thieves until halfway through their thirteenth year, and then everything changed. Noah tells the story of the many things that happened, including the death of their mother, to tear them apart, and Jude recounts what is happening three years later. The devastation of their family is palpable, as is each twin’s encounters with a brilliant artist and his apprentice. And I have to add that Noah’s falling for Brian is so heartfelt and heartbreaking at the same time, and I am sure I smiled a super-goofy, super-happy smile in the car when they had their first kiss. Nelson is an author I definitely want to keep reading!


I am reviewing The Inquisitor’s Tale by Adam Gidwitz for School Media Connection, so I can’t publish much about it here. I will say that the audience for this book is more sophisticated than that of the Grimm series and there is lots of thought-provoking stuff here, along with Gidwitz’ wit (albeit tamer here) and a bit of gory stuff.

Currently Reading:

On Deck:

Leave a Reply

