It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 5/23/16

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

The Dogs by Allan Stratton was an unsettling tale of Cameron, a teen who moves into an old farmhouse with his mother when she suspects her abusive ex-husband has found them again. Cameron is used to being the new kid, lying about his past, and being bullied. What he does not expect is that his bullies target him because of the farm he is staying at, where decades before a man was torn apart by his own guard dogs. He also doesn’t expect to meet Jacky, the ghost of a young boy who can’t seem to move on from the farm. This was definitely a creepy book (but not super-scary), and the mystery of what exactly happened so long ago is an intriguing one which the reader tries to solve along with Cameron. A solid selection for junior high and high school readers. This book counts toward my Horror Challenge 2016–I’m really catching up this month.


I was browsing previous “wish list” titles on my Overdrive account with my local public library when I ran across The Superstress Solution  by Roberta Lee, M.D. Since the end of the school year is particularly stressful, I decided to peruse the title and wound up reading the whole thing over the course of a night and early morning. It was helpful to try to identify my stress type and read about many steps one can take to reduce stress, but there was nothing really revolutionary here. I also do not find myself motivated to follow the four-week plan, particularly because I do like following rigid menu plans. Still, I am glad I read it.

Currently Reading/Listening To: 

On Deck:

Leave a Reply

