It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 5/16/16

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

This is going to be somewhat of a drive-by post, as it is the last full week i.e. busiest week) of the school year. Glad I enjoyed a number of books last week to get me relaxed and ready for the long haul of this one….

Thirteen Chairs by Dave Shelton is a full of horror stories within a story.  Middle grade because the stories are fairly mild. 3 stars. This book counts for my Horror Challenge 2016.

Crenshaw by Katherine Applegate is a story of a boy and his imaginary friend (a giant cat) who comes when he is needed most. 4 stars.

The Thing about Jellyfish by Ali Benjamin is a beautiful realistic fiction book about a preteen dealing with the death of her (former) best friend. Don’t miss this one. 4 stars.

West of the Moon by Margi Preus blends the story of a young girl sold to a goat-herder with Norse folk tales. 3 stars.

Locke & Key, Vol. 1 by Joe Hill is a horror/dark fantasy graphic novel suitable for high school students and adults. 4 stars. This book counts for my Horror Challenge 2016. This book also counts for my Panels Challenge 2016 (category 3).

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

SUMMER VACATION AND LOTS OF READING! SKY’S THE LIMIT! 🙂 🙂 🙂

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 5/16/16

  1. Wow, it’s hard to believe the school year is almost over!! I get a lot of requests for scary stories, so Thirteen Chairs sounds like it would be popular. Not my favourite genre, though – I’m too much of a wimp!

  2. I often forget that most people don’t like their horror as scary or disturbing as me. So Thirteen Chairs may be scarier than I have said, but still acceptable for junior high students. Nothing worse than Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark.

Leave a Reply

