2017 Rebecca Caudill Roundup: The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim by E. K. Johnston

The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim by E.K. Johnston (netgalley)Most years, I have a lot of trouble picking my favorite Caudill nominee…however…I have loved this book ever since reading the ARC before its publication date of 3/1/14. (lots of close seconds this time though)

I booktalk it often to students and adults; in fact, it is among the titles I will be sharing with teachers and librarians tonight at MID-State Reading Council’s Wine-A-Read event in Carlock, IL.

My review post for The Story of Owen is among my most popular posts of all time, and my stats show it still gets read once or twice every couple of weeks. Sometime I’ll need to track down whether people are finding it from Google or if there is a referring link somewhere.  Although I look at stats, I am not all that into the nitty gritty stuff.

Anyway, it seems like a good idea, then, to provide a brief excerpt and then just link to my original post–after saying that this nominee is great for older Caudill readers, although there is no content that gives me pause when considering advanced fourth graders might read it, too.

Review: The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim by E.K. Johnston

Don’t you love it when a book comes along that makes you feel like it was written especially for you? Such is the case for me with E. K. Johnston’s debut novel, The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim which is set to hit shelves on March 1st. It is a mash-up of fantasy, origin story, dragons, music, strong female characters, hockey and other Canadian things, top-notch world building and epic story-telling style, among other things.           Continue reading here

 

Leave a Reply

