It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/22/16

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

Oh, the horror! That’s a good thing–after a busy January of reading lots of MG books, it was refreshing to satisfy my need to read in my favorite genre. Thankfully, Tracy of Cornerfolds came to the rescue, by starting a monthly group read on the Horror Challenge 2016 Goodreads group. By joining in, I got to read my first-ever book by Joe Hill, son of the infamous Stephen King. I thoroughly enjoyed this tale of Jude Coyne, an aging rocker who is tricked into buying a dead man’s suit–and accompanying ghost–by someone from his past who is out for revenge. I enjoy stories where it is a person who is haunted, rather than their surroundings, and the fact that this book turned into an ill-fated road trip made it really hit the mark for me. Lots of creepiness, a fair amount of gore, and a protagonist determined to rid himself of the ghost by (almost) any means necessary made this a winner for me. This book counts for my Horror Reading Challenge 2016.



I have to admit that I didn’t know much about When I Was the Greatest by Jason Reynolds going in. I found it by browsing audiobooks on my public library’s Overdrive several months ago and put myself in line for it. Well, I am so glad I did. Reynolds’ novel is a slice-of-life, coming-of-age story about fifteen-year-old Ali’s summer in Brooklyn. Ali’s reflections give the reader a real sense of Ali’s “block” and the friends and family who inhabit it. The richly drawn characters include Ali’s little sister, Jazz; his boxing coach, Malloy; and next-door neighbors and close friends Noodles and Needles. When the three teens wrangle an invitation to the party of their friend’s older brother, Ali rescues Needles from a violent situation and loses faith in Noodles. Ali’s mostly absent father helps him handle the repercussions of his actions, in a way that Ali is not expecting. Ali’s voice is so strong, and this book immerses you right into his life. I highly recommend the audiobook, and I can’t wait to get the book (in any format) into my students’ hands. And it also makes my need to read All-American Boys even more urgent–I just put it on hold at both of my school libraries.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/22/16

  1. Ooohlala Lumberjanes! That’s bound to be fun. I read the first collected volume and enjoyed it thoroughly. Interesting to note that Stephen King’s son ended up being a horror writer himself – you know what they say about apples not falling far from the tree 🙂 hehehe.

  2. I’ll be super interested to hear what you think of The Accident Season audiobook. That’s a book I’ve been meaning to read but never thought about looking for the audio version. I adored The Basic Eight but it’s quite strange so I can easily see someone not taking to it like I did.

Leave a Reply

