It’s Monday What Are You Reading? 1/11/16

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

It has been one of those days where many things went wrong, I drank loads of pop to make it through, and then I changed into pajama pants and ate five handfuls of M&Ms as soon as I got home. So this will be short and sweet 🙂

Last Week’s Books:

The Secret Hum of a Daisy by Tracy Holczer is such a heartprint book for middle schoolers. When 12 year-old Grace’s mother dies, she must go live with the grandmother who turned her back on her pregnant teenage daughter after a devastating car accident took the lives of her husband and Grace’s father. To see them wrestle with creating a relationship in the midst of their grief and face the problems of the past is great-wrenching.


Red Madness: How a Medical Mystery Changed What We Eat by Gail Jarrow was an incredibly engaging work of literary nonfiction. Jarrow telles a fascinating tale of the disease pellagra and countless doctors’ search for the cause and cure. Her research was extensive, and she shows it through thorough citing of sources and an explanation of source materials. This book counts for my Read Harder Challenge 2016–nonfiction book about science.


Secrets of Shakespeare’s Grave by Deron R. Hicks is a wonderfully classic mystery set in modern times. Twelve-year-old Colphon Letterford must work with black sheep of the family Uncle Julian to find a family treasure and save her father’s control of their centuries-old publishing business. Full of engaging clues, peril, and an ever-looming deadline, this mystery is sure to delight. I’m glad it is the first book in a series 🙂

Currently reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

 

7 thoughts on “It’s Monday What Are You Reading? 1/11/16

  1. I actually read an adult nonfiction title that touched on pellagra, “52 loaves” by William Alexander. What a fascinating episode in history, and something I’d never heard about before! I’m glad that nonfiction titles are becoming so varied in their topics, there really is a book now on almost anything you can imagine, and all sorts of things you can’t. Fascinating stuff.

    1. I had never heard of it before either, and I had to stop myself more than once from googling “pellagra” so that my knowledge could unfold with the mystery. I agree that we are living in interesting nonfiction times.

  2. I envy how you are making lovely headway with your Book Riot Read Harder Challenge – I think I’ve only gotten past one book out of 24 – soon! It will come! 🙂

Leave a Reply

