First Book of the Year 2016

Thanks to Sheila at Book Journey for the third consecutive year of celebrating what we choose to read for our First Book of the Year. How cool for us readers to be given the inspiration to really think about the book with which we want to start our year 🙂

There are a lot books that I have to read in the next month, but I chose my first book just for me.

I have fallen in love with Patrick Ness’ beautiful writing over the past year and made sure to pre-order his latest. I received it on its book birthday (October 6), but wound up reading (many) other things first. So now is the perfect time to settle in on my couch with….

restofusjustlivehere

 

20 thoughts on “First Book of the Year 2016

  1. OOH I did not know Patrick had a new book out!!!! Did you read Knife of Never letting go and the series? LOVE them wish they were movies. I met Patrick in Minneapolis a couple of years ago… I have my geeky picture with him 🙂

    1. I have not read the Knife series, although everyone tells me it would totally be my thing. Going to remedy that very soon! Happy Reading and thanks again for this celebration 🙂

  2. This is my first year participating and I am so glad I did. I also love seeing what everyone else’s picks were. I hate to say it, but I have never read a Patrick Ness novel. Maybe this is the year I change that! Happy New Year!

    1. A Monster Calls is amazing! When you do read it, please make sure it is the illustrated version–beautiful! Also, it will be a movie in October. The trailer looks great, and Liam Neeson is voicing the monster.

Leave a Reply

