Wrap Up: Goodreads, Read Harder, and Random Reads Challenges

Yet another reflection on my reading challenges of the past year. I feel that participating in challenges gives me the impetus to read more widely than I would otherwise, especially in reading adult books instead of only MG/YA.

2015readingchallengeGoodreads Challenge
As of the evening of 12/30, I have surpassed my goal of reading 125 books by completing 141 books. There is a slight chance that I will finish one more tomorrow, but I helped my daughter move today and then she was in a car accident (no one hurt) so I didn’t get very far in my current book. This is the second year in a row my goal has been 125, so I might raise it just a bit for 2016.

bookriotreadharderRead Harder Challenge
I have no idea why, but I did not realize that 2015 was Book Riot’s very first Read Harder Challenge. So now I have a bit of guilt about bowing out after meeting only 10 of the 24 challenges. At some point in the summer I just felt I did not have the gusto to see it through. I definitely like their diverse categories and feel the challenge is a noble pursuit, so I think I will try again in 2016.

random reads

Random Reads Challenge
It seems that imlovingbooks.com is no longer a valid blog; however, I continued on with this challenge until the end of the year. I love the idea of a surprise item from my TBR list every month. I have read every Random Read book except for December’s–I need to check it out of the public library and I haven’t gotten there quite yet. But I will follow through and get to it–if not in January, in February. I think I will continue to pick a random read for the month in 2016, even if this official challenge is no more.

Stay tuned–next week I will officially announce all of my challenges for the upcoming year.

How did you do in meeting your reading goals and challenges this year?

Leave a Reply

