It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/9/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

Slasher Girls & Monster Boys is an anthology of YA horror stories that is not for the faint of heart. In addition to being downright creepy, most of the stories are satisfyingly gory and violent, if you like that sort of thing. Which I do. In addition, they are inspired by classic stories, novels, and movies, as well as some newer works as well, and the author identifies them at the end of the story, so it is fun for the reader to try to figure it out along the way. Although a bit too intense for a junior high school library, I highly recommend the book for high schools, public libraries, and horror fans. “Sleepless” by Jay Kristoff and “In The Forest Dark and Deep” by Carrie Ryan are my particular favorites. This book counts for my Horror Reading Challenge 2015.


I also read the forthcoming YA dystopian novel, Flawed by Cecelia Ahern, but I can’t say much about it because I am reviewing it for School Library Connection. It has the potential to be very popular, but I found some, er, flaws….

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

7 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/9/15

  1. Cecilia Ahern like PS I Love You? Interesting and … sort of unfortunate? Even though that is so not my usual genre to read I wanted Gerard Butler to appear out on the moor when I visited Scotland. Anyway, I digress. So behind on my YA. :/ Haven’t read Slasher Girls yet.

  2. Yes, the same Cecelia Ahern, so says the ARC. I have not read her adult books or seen the movie, and now I am wondering if I will get hate mail if I say her foray into YA is just OK….

  3. Slasher Girls and Monster Boys is not my kind of book at all. However, I have read the first in the Spirit Animal Series. I enjoyed it, but I wasn’t so excited that I wanted to read more. I think I picked it up in the first place because so many of our readers are devouring them and I wondered what they were all about. They can be a bit violent for some of my elementary students.

Leave a Reply

