It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/2/2015

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

I read the graphic novel Nimona by Noelle Stevenson and wrote about it in Thursday’s #GNCelebration postThis book counts for my Award Winning Book Challenge (Will Eisner Comic Industry Awards Nominee for Best Digital/Web Comic and National Book Award Nominee for Young People’s Literature)


I finished listening to The Martian by Andy Weir, too. I am thankful for the friend who advised that the audiobook would be a good choice as the hard science seemed easier to understand when listening. I assume that all of you have been living above rocks and so I don’t need to say much about this book. I thought it was excellent and even though all the hullabaloo made me sure of a happy ending, I still found myself grinning ear-to-ear when Mark Watney solved a particularly pesky problem and my eyes brimming with tears when he was finally reunited with his crew. Definitely going to see the movie now, too. Although there is a fair amount of swearing in it and it is marketed for adults, I am debating putting it in my middle school libraries because it is such an awesome survival story. Does anyone else have it in a 6-8 library? This book counts for my Award Winning Book Challenge (Alex Award). This book counts for my Random Reads Challenge.


I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora was an interesting book about a trio of almost-freshman who conspire to create a buzz about Lee Harper’s classic work. They start out by relocating (hiding not stealing) the copies in local bookstores and libraries to create a scarcity of the novel. Then, they create a social media campaign to keep folks guessing, which sparks copycat (and sometimes worse) behavior around the country. I thought it was interesting and a bit cute, but somewhat short on details about the social media campaign. And, of course, reading a book about people who love books is always a pleasure.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/2/2015

  1. I just started the audio of The Martian today and am loving it so far. I’ve laughed out loud several times, which is always nice on a long commute to work. So glad to know it’s good all the way through. My son is very eager to see the movie, but I want to finish the book first!

Leave a Reply

