It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/19/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

This week I read two graphic novels, Sunny Side Up by Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm and Sisters by Raina Telgemeier. I enjoyed these realistic stories of girls facing growing pains and figuring out how to deal with family members. I don’t think, though, that I enjoyed them as much as the many people whom I have heard raving about them. Don’t get me wrong; they are both great examples of their genre–both graphic novel and realistic fiction–and they are very popular with my students. I just think maybe my expectations were sky high due to all the buzz about them.


Turning Fifteen on the Road to Freedom: My Story of the Selma Voting Rights March by Lynda Blackmon Lowery is an engaging and accessible memoir. I knew that young people were involved starting very early on in the Civil Rights movement, but I was shocked to hear that Lynda was arrested nine times before the age of 15. Her descriptions of the prison conditions are chilling, and her perseverance is inspiring. And Lowery’s writing style made it seem as if I were sitting down to share a cup of tea with her and listening to her memories of those volatile times. After finishing the book, I book talked it seventh graders the next day, and a few of the students raced each other to be the one who got to check it out 🙂


A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay was my random read this month. This adult horror novel recounts the story of a family on a reality TV show called The Possession. Fourteen-year-old Marjorie has started hearing voices and behaving in a very disturbing and aggressive manner, especially toward her eight-year-old sister Merry. When medical doctors and pharmaceuticals prove ineffective, Marjorie’s father meets with a local priest and eventually an exorcism is ordered–and to be filmed on TV. Told from the perspective of a grown Merry looking back on that troubled time, this disturbing book still has me thinking about it days after I finished reading it. This book counts for my Horror Reading Challenge 2015. This book counts for my Random Reads 2015 Challenge.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck: 

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/19/15

  1. Sunny Side Up was one I liked because of the whole Bicentennial thing. Can’t think of many other books that involve that, and it was a HUGE deal. I was about the same age as the main character, and also visited an elderly relative in Florida in 1974, so it was all nostalgia for me. Nimona was one that didn’t work for me. Wanted to slap her!

  2. I loved Turning 15 on the Road to Freedom and couldn’t wait to share it with teachers, but I haven’t booktalked it yet to students, maybe I should. I enjoyed I Kill the Mockingbird, fairly light entertainment though my students didn’t always get the humor :/

  3. A Head Full of Ghosts sounds scary indeed. With a bit of mental illness thrown in as well. I have yet to buy myself a copy of The Martian. Looking forward to reading the Stroud series very soon for our upcoming reading theme. I hope you enjoy Nimona as much as I did.

Leave a Reply

