It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/28/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

What If?: Serious Scientific Answers to Absurd Hypothetical Questions by Randall Munroe nearly turned me into a thirteen-year-old boy. I gave this book to my son last Christmas and since then he has read it at least three times. Every once in a while, he will walk up to me, read it, and say something like this: “Listen to this: This guy is telling people whether it would be possible to build a jetpack by firing machine guns downward. How awesome would that be! He says….” and then keep talking for about 10 minutes. This book is full of such intriguing questions and such thorough and, I admit, often over-my-head answers that it is difficult to put down. It is so tempting to read this book aloud to, well, everyone, that I almost copied my son, and I don’t think that my husband could have handled two of us constantly reading passages all over the house. Munroe, creator of the wildly popular web comic xkcd, has made a book that is utterly fascinating, unputdownable (it’s in Merriam-Webster–don’t judge me 😉 ), and filled with enlightening albeit amusing illustrations. I can’t remember the last time I read a science book that was so darn fun, and I can’t wait to share it with my middle school students.


I also read Pam Munoz Ryan’s Echo this week. Well, actually I read it in about a day, and I was completely blown away. It is beautiful, magnificent, moving, and a whole host of other adjectives that people use to describe the best of the best of the Newbery books. Seriously. It is a definite contender, and, one of the most excellent work of literature I have read in a while. It is written in a story-within-a -story–well actually three-stories-within-a-story–format, all gorgeously woven together by a harmonica and family and hope and love and perseverance. All the stories are set in the past but this book is not only historical fiction but also magic realism and is one of those genre-busting books that will have broad appeal. As soon as I finished the book, I immediately got on Goodreads to recommend it to quite a few friends. And if you haven’t already read it, I recommend it to you, reader. Make it your next book and you won’t be disappointed. I promise.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/28/15

  1. I am glad that you loved Echo – reading it was the reason why I insisted on visiting Dachau while in Munich a few months ago. Beautiful novel, isn’t it? I did borrow What If? at one point but did not really get into it that much – I would have to give it another try.

Leave a Reply

