It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/27/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

Well, I can’t tell you much about the middle grade novel Ripple Effect by Sylvia Taekema because I am reviewing it for Library Media Connection. Here is the Goodreads/publisher’s description: Best friends Dana and Janelle had big plans for grade six. Run on the cross-country team together. Try out for volleyball. They’d even planned to be partners for the class geography project. Neither girl could have known that a biking accident would land Janelle in the hospital all summer long. Dana is convinced that everything will go back to normal once school starts. But Queen Bee Julia has co-opted her friend, and Janelle’s crutches make running or playing volleyball impossible. Over time, the girls begin to act more and more like strangers. As Dana struggles to come to terms with her feelings of guilt, anger and loneliness, she wonders if there’s anything left of her old friendship that’s salvageable. Can she find her way back to her best friend?


I also read The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey, the follow up to The 5th Wave. The events take place immediately following the first book (spoiler alert)as Cassie, Nugget (Sam), Ben and the rest of the small group wait at a hotel for Evan to catch up after destroying the base. Ringer is impatient, setting off on her own and getting captured and held prisoner. Most of the action centers around the experiences of Ringer and Evan, and through them, readers learn even more about the aliens’ aims and methods, This felt like a book two in a trilogy in that there were parts that made me a bit impatient for answers. However, the book is action-packed, the reveals are amazing, and the parts told by Ringer kept me on the edge of my seat. Bring on book three!

Currently Reading:

lokiswolves

On Deck:

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/27/15

  1. Oh, my! Is that a graphic novel version of a Goosebumps book? I so do NOT love horror/ scary–but lots of my kids do! I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of that. A question about Ripple Effect– is it appropriate for mature 5th graders? Thanks! 🙂

    1. Yes, it is a graphic Goosebumps! It is an ARC but expected pub date is 8-25 🙂
      Ripple Effect could even go down to grade 4 I think. Nothing YA about it at all.

  2. I’m reading the 5th Wave now and…not loving it as much as I thought I would. I can definitely see a lot of teens eating it up though! I’ve been meaning to read Loki’s Wolves ever since it came out but have not gotten to it yet. I’ll be eager to hear what you think!

Leave a Reply

