It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/6/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

We’re home again, so I expect to amp up my reading again soon. I was too busy seeing ALL THE THINGS and listening to old time radio shows while traveling.

Last Week’s Book:

IMG_1517Mark of the Thief is the first book in Jennifer A. Nielsen’s new series. Set in ancient Rome, the story follows Nicholas Calva, a slave who finds a powerful bulla (amulet) that not only has its own magic, but helps Nic awaken powers within. All Nic wants to do is get himslef and his sister to freedom, but instead he becomes entangled in a web of conspiracy, rebellion against the emperor, and loads of power-hungry men. In fact, there are so many twists and turns that it was often difficult to know who the “good guys” were–if, in fact, there were any who were not just out for themselves. I enjoyed Nic’s tentative friendship with Aurelia, a fierce young woman with a intriguing past of her own. I think that most fans of Nielsen’s Ascension series will enjoy this book, but more reading experience is necessary to follow the twisting plot and subplots.

Currently Reading:

Trollhunters by Daniel Kraus and Guillermo del Toro is due to be released tomorrow. I will be posting a review later this week. It is still early, but I am enjoying this team-up from two masters of horror.

IMG_1483

On Deck:

Although we visited five or six bookstores while on vacation, I was very choosy–even at the Mesa Public Library sale we visited. Below is the stack I accumulated for myself, although I did buy one book for school and a few gifts for others, and my husband and son came home with stacks of their own. Winger by Andrew Smith is signed! Oh, and I came home with a bundle of yarn and other souvenirs as well 🙂

2015-06-30 13.49.17

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/6/15

  1. I’m reticent about reading Mark of The Thief, because while I enjoyed The False Prince, I found that I wasn’t that enthralled with the second and disappointed in the third in the series. I enjoyed Winger, but I don’t think it holds a candle to Grasshopper Jungle. I’ve got Alex Crow at home to read this summer.

  2. Oh my goodness – Daniel Kraus and Guillermo del Toro of The Strain – now that’s a horror story I would gladly read. I will definitely look for this novel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

