It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6/8/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

I definitely enjoyed Rick Yancey’s take on an alien invasion, The 5th Wave. I found it to have an exciting, believable story line filled with non-stop action and great world-building. The main characters Cassie, Zombie/Ben, Sammy/Nugget, and Evan were unique and well-developed, and I loved, loved, loved how their stories all wove together. Better still were the moments when I gasped out loud at understanding just what the alien invaders were up to and how they were doing it. I don’t always read the sequels when the book sells itself, but I definitely want to know what happens next so I will this time. It looks like this will be made into a movie in 2016, and I will have to check that out, too, as the book certainly reads like one.


I finally read El Deafo by Cece Bell this week, and it was as great as everyone has said. Maybe my favorite thing about it is how Bell lets readers know that not only did her classmates and friends have misconceptions about her and her deafness but that she also had misconceptions about them, their thoughts about her, and their intentions. There’s such great stuff in this book that I am going to feature it in many booktalks when school starts up in the fall. I know for sure that lovers of Smile, Drama, and Sisters will love it, but so will many experienced and newbie graphic novel readers. Can we call it a graphic novel by the way? I have classified it in the 921s with the other memoirs, but I always seem to say “graphic novel” instead of “graphic book.” I might have to do some reading about this…. This book counts for my Award Winning Book Challenge (Newbery Honor)

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 6/8/15

  1. I still haven’t read El Deafo, (I hope to get to it this summer) but if you liked this one, I think you will love Roller Girls. It will be interesting to read your comments on Rain Reign. The Black Tatoo sounds a bit too creepy for me!

  2. Just finished reading The Crossover early this week. Very fast-paced and such a quick and fun read. I borrowed El Deafo but returned it to the library unread as I wasn’t able to get around to reading it – hopefully when I get back to Singapore, I get to read it again.

Leave a Reply

