It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 5/11/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas came to me highly recommended by a few people lately, including my awesome student teacher, Gretchen. She even made sure my hardcover book’s boring cover was replaced with the new fiercer paperback one! Celaena Sardothien is a notorious assassin who has been removed from the harshest of all prisons to compete in a no-holds barred competition with other dangerous criminals to be the King’s Champion. If she wins, she will serve the King for four years and then be granted her freedom; if she loses, she returns to the prison. Celaena’s identity is hidden from almost everyone; however, Prince Dorian knows who she is and begins to fall in love with her anyway. In addition to Dorian’s affections, Celaena must contend with an odd relationship with Captain Westfall, her trainer–and oh, yeah, there is something evil picking off competitors and devouring them in gory ways. I am not one who always wants romance with my fantasy, so in some cases I needed “a little less conversation, a little more action.” (Thank you, thank you very much.) However, this is a strong start to a series which is becoming more and more popular in my school daily.

Also, there’s this 🙂

tweet_maas


I also finally read This One Summer by Mariko Tamaki and illustrated by Jillian Tamaki. It is the story of pre-teens Rose and Windy and the things they do, but mostly the things they witness while at their summer vacation houses at Awago Beach. Through their eyes, we see Rose’s mom and dad’s strained relationship caused, in part, by her mother’s miscarriage a few years later after long attempts to have another child. We also see local teenagers’ parties and problems, including one girl’s suspected pregnancy. The illustrations, done all in blue, are breathtaking and detailed and emotionally powerful, and it is no wonder that the book received a Caldecott Honor. I feel that I might be in the minority here when I wonder at it being a Printz Honor book as well. Although the book is designated as YA, I felt it would be more likely to be enjoyed by adults who are looking back at their younger years and thinking about what it was like to be on the verge of high school and looking in both at that world and the world of one’s parents. This Book counts for my Award Winning Book Challenge 2015 (x2 :-))


This week, I also read Charmed Deception by Eilis O’Neal in order to review it for Library Media Connection. Thus, my review is reserved for them. However, I will say that this 448-page fantasy has such a heavy romance component (but light romance–kissing only) that I feel compelled to count it for my Read Harder Challenge 2015 (a romance novel).

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

Leave a Reply

