It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 5/4/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

Well, I must say that listening to A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle was a treat after all these years. She narrated the audiobook herself, and, to be honest, she had a unique voice that I might not have liked had she not been the author. It was cool, though, to hear all the places and words where she put an emphasis. I am assuming most readers of this blog are familiar with the book, so I won’t summarize it. However, there were a few things that struck me when considering the book for today’s young readers. It was a bit jarring to hear the word “moron” tossed about at the beginning. I know that much harsher language is in books today, but it still stood out. Also, I had forgotten how much religions sentiment is in it. There are quite a few biblical quotations as well as characters considering the role of God in their lives. Not a bad thing, but mostly absent from today’s science fiction books, unless religion is part of a dystopian society. These are not necessarily criticisms–just points of interest that illuminate the age of the novel. Finally, I can certainly see how much influence this work has had in the science fiction novels of today, making it a must-read for fans of the genre. This book counts for my 2015 Award-Winning Book Challenge (Newbery).


Geek Love by Katherine Dunn is an adult novel. I just want to get that out there right now because it has been a while since I have read something so disturbing. Oly Binewski tells the story of her dysfunctional (to the nth degree) family and family business, a circus specializing in human oddities (freaks). On page seven it is revealed that in an effort to save the dying circus, Olivia’s father made sure he would have enough freaks by giving his (willing) wife a variety of drugs, dangerous chemicals, and radioactive substances in order for their children to be born with profitable birth defects. And if that is not horrifying enough, the story of this family’s relationships will make you cringe. Just as I was finishing this book, I saw it on Book Riot’s list of the 10 Best Horror Books You’ve Never Read. It advises readers to “take a deep breath” for this one. I agree. Although the writing is masterful and the story is compelling (it was named a National Book Award Honor), it is definitely not a book for everyone. <<shudder>> This book counts for my Horror Reading Challenge 2015. (in spades)


I also read two excellent series books, Key Discoveries in Engineering and Design by Katie Marsico and Key Discoveries in Physical Science by Christine Zuchora-Walske. I can’t say much since my review will appear in Library Media Connection, but I am very glad to be able to add them to my collection.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

ivan_remarkable_true


9 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 5/4/15

  1. I always love the L’Engle books! I am currently listening to The Martian by Andy Weir on Audible… and I am reading the last book in Percy Jackson series!

    I just got 25 books at a library sale for $18, so I’m ready for some poolside reading!

    1. I have heard wonderful things about The Martian! I think it will be my next audiobook after Black Tattoo.

      Enjoy the pool 🙂
      It is raining here, so I guess that’s something 😉

      1. The Martian is EXCELLENT. Parts of it get a little confusing listening to, but just all his mathematical and chemical equations that I have always been trained to read and not hear.

        I recommend this to everyone and cannot wait for the movie!

  2. I reread Wrinkle in Time a few years ago and really felt that it did not hold up very well. I was so bored! I’ve been wanting to read the graphic novel adaptation by Hope Larson. But yes, I definitely recognized how influential it was. I was a bit meh on One and Only Ivan (I say that in a whisper!) but I adored the PB.

  3. I read Rebecca Stead’s When You Reached Me, and then went back and listened to A Wrinkle in Time. Although not seeming so profound as it did when I first read it over 30 years ago, I still enjoyed it.

    1. Elisabeth and Cheriee, A Wrinkle in Time is definitely dated and not quite as harrowing as many other science fiction works, but it’s definitely one of those giants that our sci fi writers of today are standing on the shoulders of. Yes, I would like to read the graphic novel, too.

  4. Hi there Michelle, great to see you making so much progress with the AWB reading challenge. Loved A Wrinkle In Time. Have you seen the graphic novel adaptation by Hope Larson? That one was particularly well done. Geek Love sounds interesting.

  5. I have that graphic novel at my library, and you are the second person to highly recommend it :). I think I should read it soon–while the original is still very fresh in my mind.

Leave a Reply

