It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/16/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over atTeach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

I really wanted to love Platte F. Clark’s Bad Unicorn, which I read to prepare for our “Funny” Books and Bites. Just looking at the cover and title makes me giggle a bit. Turns out that I liked it, but it was not as hilarious as I wanted it to be. It is the story of Max Spencer who finds a dusty leather book under his bed that only he can read, or even touch. It is The Codex of Infinite Knowability, a powerful book by his powerful ancestor. With it, Max and his friends are able to travel to a magical realm and a future earth. All the while Princess, the carnivorous and dangerous unicorn who can take animal, human, and robo- form, is hunting him. I think where the book fell flat for me is that there are a number of moments where you can “see” the jokes as jokes. I will have to get some student feedback, though, as many are intrigued by the description and the cover.


I also finished the audiobook Make Love! The Bruce Campbell Way. It was as campy and fun as I expected, as it recounted Bruce’s supporting role in a fictitious romantic comedy directed by Mike Nichols and starring Richard Gere and Renee Zellweger. Through a series of changes both suggested by Campbell and foisted upon him, the film degrades into B-movie madness. It’s a great listen for fans of Campbell–others just won’t get it.

Currently reading/Listening To:

I am about halfway through Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman–amazing. I am also half-way through Ready Player One, a re-read for the Nerdist Book Club. I picked up a $1 audiobook of Taming of the Shrew at my public library’s book sale, too.

On Deck:

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/16/15

  1. I started the Amanda Palmer a couple of months and really liked the first couple of chapters but put it down to finish other things and haven’t gotten back to it. I’m pretty sure I’ll have to start from the beginning since I have very little memory of what happened! I love the Bad Unicorn cover. My husband loves Bruce Campbell, so I’ll have to find that book for him. Thanks for sharing!

    1. Palmer’s audiobook is read by her and includes songs, too. I have been spoiled by great audiobooks lately. The ones with multiple narrators have been much like an updated version of radio plays.

Leave a Reply

