It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/16/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Reading Slump 😦

In January I read my way through 19 books, and halfway through February I have managed to finish only one, although I am close to finishing two more. I do have some great books I plan to get to very soon, but I am finding my life busy right now–although I am also choosing to spend my down-time mindlessly surfing the net or vegging in front of the TV. Looks like I need to put myself back on a reading schedule and electronics diet!

Also, I recently abandoned a book and read one that was unsatisfying (see below), so that hasn’t helped either.

Last Week’s Book:

68roomsWhen I first heard about Marianne Malone’s The Sixty-Eight Rooms, I was excited to read a book featuring the Thorne Rooms at the Art Institute of Chicago. As a Chicago native I have had the pleasure of seeing them many times throughout my life. I mean, just imagine being a kid who shrinks and gets to explore the rooms AND have adventures during many different times in the past! However, I have to agree with the many reviewers who have found that the book just did not live up to expectations. The writing was clunky, particularly in the scenes in the children’s everyday life. Both parents and kids’ dialogue seemed unrealistic and/or forced. The adventures in the Thorne Rooms themselves, were mildly interesting but were not as exciting or perilous as they might have been. And the conflict in the real world (one parent’s financial troubles) was not at all resolved or influenced by what went on in the fantasy one. In all, it is not one I will recommend to my students.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/16/15

    1. Funny you should mention it–I just finished listening to World War Z, and while I was at a friend’s library yesterday afternoon I grabbed Angela Johnson’s The First Part Last pretty much on a whim. I listened to it on the drive home, and I am loving it!

  1. Reading slumps do happen once in awhile, and I think it gets even worse when you read badly-written books. Sometimes I get so traumatized that I am afraid to pick up another book! Hope your upcoming reads are better ones.

Leave a Reply

