It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/9/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Book:

losthero

Well, I very seldom abandon books, but I let this one go this week after getting about 80 pages in. Even though it is the first book of Riordan’s The Heroes of Olympus series, it must rely very heavily on his first series. I found myself completely lost, having read only The Lightning Thief rather than the whole Percy Jackson series. There were lots of references to events I had no idea about, including that Percy Jackson is currently missing. I know that fans have loved this book and spin-off series, but it just didn’t work for me as a stand-alone.

So I didn’t make it completely through any books this week, but had a great weekend, as our committee met and chose the 2016 Master List for the Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award. It is one of my very favorite days of the year, as around 70 of us gather to speak passionately about books and to select a list that is sure to entice and engage young readers. As the Awards Chair, I had the privilege of contacting all 20 authors yesterday, and I have already received some joyous responses via email and Facebook messages. The list should be posted later today, and I will highlight it here on I Push Books.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

On Deck:

 

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/9/15

  1. I’m reading The Lost Hero aloud to my son right now. He’s read 3 or 4 of the Percy Jackson books and he seems to be enjoying this one. I’m very frustrated by how stupidly Riordan depicts girls (so tired of all the gushing about their beauty and hotness). The writing is not special and character development is almost nonexistent for all the characters, but it’s fairly fast-paced and we needed that after trying (and abandoning) The Witch’s Boy (though I intend to finish that one on my own because I did like the writing quite a bit). Story of Owen is at the top of my TBR pile–hoping to get to it soon.

  2. I am not really a Rick Riordan fan either, so I get your abandoning this book. The Rebecca Caudill Young Readers’ Book Award work sounds very interesting. There are some fabulous books on the list! This year at our school, I’m trying out a new kind of book club. I received a box of Canadian authored ARC’s and let the students each choose one other book. Then I threw in a few that I thought were good. We’ve organized them into bins for reading/content level and get together once or twice a week to talk books. We don’t limit our conversations to the ‘official books’. I also set each of the book club members up with a blog so they can communicate about books when they are not here at school. I’m really enjoying this open ended version this year, but we shall see how it all works out.

  3. It sounds like I’m not alone because I feel like Rick Riordan’s books don’t have the same crossover likability for adults like some other books do (i.e., Harry Potter). I can see why kids really, really enjoy it, but it didn’t hook me in as an adult. I tried reading The Red Pyramid a few years ago and abandoned it too. Just couldn’t get into it.

  4. Like you, I get impatient with Rick Riordan’s writing – I read a few of his 39 clues series and I did try my best to read through them – haven’t tried any of his Percy Jackson series yet – for the very same reasons you cited. I’m envious that you already have Trigger Warning. I’m looking forward to receiving that for Valentine’s day from my husband (among other books).

Leave a Reply

