February Random Read

January went by so quickly that I can hardly believe it’s time for my February Random Read! Thanks to imlovingbooks.com for hosting this meme. This year, I’m reading off of my Goodreads to-read list because I have added all the things that still interested me from my Shelfari list.

Today random.org chose #125 for me, so I will be reading the adult novel Night Film by Marisha Pessl. This comes as a great time because I will have less “committed” reading to do in February. I remember adding this book after seeing it on some sort of “books that will blow your mind” list, and then I was able to pick it up at the used book sale at the public library a few weeks later.

Here is the Goodreads descriptionnightfilm:

Everybody has a Cordova story. Cult horror director Stanislas Cordova hasn’t been seen in public since 1977. To his fans he is an engima. To journalist Scott McGrath he is the enemy. To Ashley he was a father.

On a damp October night the body of young, beautiful Ashley Cordova is found in an abandoned warehouse in lower Manhattan. Her suicide appears to be the latest tragedy to hit a severely cursed dynasty.

For McGrath, another death connected to the legendary director seems more than a coincidence. Driven by revenge, curiosity and a need for the truth, he finds himself pulled into a hypnotic, disorientating world, where almost everyone seems afraid.

The last time McGrath got close to exposing Cordova, he lost his marriage and his career. This time he could lose his grip on reality.

ONCE WE FACE OUR DEEPEST FEARS, WHAT LIES ON THE OTHER SIDE?

I will have to decide when reading whether I can count it for my horror reading challenge–Goodreads readers “shelve” it in the following order: mystery, fiction, thriller, horror. And speaking of challenges…

2015 Challenges: January Progress

  • Goodreads goal of 125 books: 18 this month
  • Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge (24 specific categories of books): Two: The Maze Runner (book by author of gender different from mine) and Rump (fairy tale retelling)
  • Award Winning Books goal of 11-24 books: Three: The Port Chicago 50 by Steve Sheinkin (National Book Award Finalist); Kakapo Rescue by Sy Montgomery (Sibert Award); Parrots Over Puerto Rico by Susan L. Roth (Sibert Award)
  • Horror Reading Challenge 2015 goal of 6-10 books: Zero 😦
  • Random Reads goal of one book per month: One: The Port Chicago 50 by Steve Sheinkin
One thought on “February Random Read

Leave a Reply

