It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 1/5/15

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over atTeach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books: 

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys is a book that has been on my TBR list for AGES. In fact, my husband, who has a degree in history and a Lithuanian background, read it years ago and even exchanged emails with the author a couple of times. It is the little-told story of the Russian occupation of Lithuania and the subsequent transport of the people to work camps. Told by 15-year-old Lina, the story of families’ struggle to survive and remain hopeful is heart-wrenching and fascinating and just what excellent historical fiction should be.


My family took an in-state trip over winter break, and my husband brought along the audiobook of The Angel’s Kiss by Justin Richards. Well, actually, it is by Melody Malone, a.k.a. Melody Pond, a.k.a River Song of Doctor Who fame. The book was performed by Alex Kingston, the actress who plays River, and it was wonderfully hard-boiled-detective-sounding and snarky-River-sounding at the same time. The story takes place in 1938 New York, just before the “Angels Take Manhattan” story line from TV. A definite delight for fans of the show.


As You Wish by Cary Elwes was my first book of 2015, and it was everything this huge fan of The Princess Bride hoped it would be. Filled with behind-the-scenes tales, actor and director remembrances, and other fun anecdotes, I would say it is a must-read for fans. I definitely need to watch the film again very soon, and I know I will have to watch, stop, and re-watch scenes that had a great anecdote to go with them, probably with the book in hand.


Rump: The True Story of Rumpelstiltskin by Liesle Surtliff was an engaging retelling of the classic tale, told from the point of view of Rumpelstiltskin, not a strange little man at all, but rather a motherless boy in search of his destiny. Shurtliff imagines a very plausible back-story for Rump, and then makes all of the traditional elements of the tale make sense. I feel that this book will be a hit with middle graders–especially those who love fairy tales and those who love saying the word “Rump.” 😉

Note: This book counts for my Read Harder Challenge (retelling of fairy tale)

Currently Reading:

This is the last time I will post e.e.cumming’s book until I can put it in the “Last Week’s Books” section. Let’s just assume I will read a bit every week until then 🙂

On Deck:

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 1/5/15

  1. I read (with my ears) As You Wish a few weeks ago. LOVED it! And need to read Between Shades of Gray. I heard her speak back in … September? Bought the book. Then loaned it to my mom and got wrapped up in school. She just finally remembered to give it back to me last week so hopefully soon.

  2. Unfortunately Between Shades of Gray was published around the same time as though adult books with a similar title. It took me a while to get around to reading it, but when I did, I was very impressed. It is indeed one heck of a story!

  3. How are you finding The Maze Runner yet? I am looking forward to reading the series this year. 🙂 I’ve read so many great things about Ruta Sepetys’ writing so I am most definitely intrigued. 🙂

    1. At first The Maze Runner put me off a little, as the narrator was not at all omniscient. So readers knew only as much about what was going on as Thomas, who had his memory wiped. And then I realized how much empathy I had for him. I have now finished it, and I can say the end felt somewhat rushed, but overall it is a satisfying dystopia and I am intrigued enough to read the sequels.

Leave a Reply

