It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 12/22/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

Remember last week when I said I was re-reading Tuck Everlasting by listening to the audiobook? And were you also fairly certain you had already read a book and then started reading to realize that you hadn’t? Well, that’s what happened to me with this book. As I listened, I realized that although the plot was very familiar to me because it is a novel taught in our middle schools, I definitely didn’t know what was coming next so I must have never read it after all.

So these are my impressions for my first reading of Tuck Everlasting. The tone was very reminiscent of books written much earlier than 1985, reminding me of Little House on the Prairie or Anne of Green Gables. I think it was the “I’m telling you a story” vibe or narrator being omniscient yet capturing the wide-eyed-ness of the main character. Winnie’s characterization was top-notch. At first I thought, “Wait a minute” when she switched between falling in love with the Tucks and seeing them as kidnappers but then I remembered that’s just how a confused ten-year-old might react in such a situation. And, of course, she was being presented with some very out-of-the-ordinary information! I love that the man in the yellow suit was obviously a villain from the start, but not an overt  one until later. One thing that I wonder about when I consider a child today reading it versus one in 1985–Jesse is 17 and telling 10-year-old Winnie he will wait for her to “grow up” and marry her. I know the book is historical fiction in addition to fantasy, so times were different, but I would think it would require a bit of discussion with the preteens reading it now. No wonder they made Winnie older in the movie–I hear, because I haven’t seen it either. Finally, in terms of making readers really consider what living forever would mean and whether it would be a good thing, the book handles it excellently. There is lots of food for thought here.

My last impression is that I did not enjoy the audiobook narrator. The audiobook is from 1995, and the male reader just seemed to me to over enunciate and seemed to be “talking down” to readers. Of course, I could just be spoiled by listening to Kirby Heybourne lately . . .


Blackout by Mira Grant was a VERY satisfying conclusion to the Newsflesh trilogy. There is no way a discussion of the plot here would avoid MAJOR SPOILERS so if you have no plans to read the series, you can read a summary on Goodreads. Suffice it to say that the After the End Times blogging staff continue to investigate the U.S. government and the Center for Disease Control and find out just how much disinformation and corruption the citizens living in an after-the-zombie-apocalypse world have been subjected to. And they face many harrowing experiences in their pursuit of getting to the truth and sharing it with the people. I love how much science is in these books–so much so that I hesitate to classify it as a horror novel as many have done. And it does not surprise me at all to see that Grant’s newest series is called Parasitology. It is definitely on my to-read list. Note: this author is for high schoolers and adults–or other readers whose mothers know they are ready for her (like my son :-))

Currently Reading:

On Deck: Two books I feel I should have read a while ago . . . .

Leave a Reply

