It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 12/1/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

I can’t believe it’s December already! And although I had big plans to read over this Thanksgiving Break, I was busy with family and hockey. No Black Friday shopping though–at least not outside of my house–the more years pass the more I love online shopping.

Last Week’s Books: 

I’ll Be There is the debut novel by Holly Goldberg (of Counting by 7s  fame). This is the story of star-crossed lovers Emily and Sam who couldn’t come from more different backgrounds. Sam has been abused and neglected by his criminal father ever since the man abducted him and his brother, Riddle, nearly 10 years ago. Emily lives in a comfortable house with a supportive family. Although I said “lovers” the truth is that the two high schoolers barely have time to share a first kiss before Sam’s paranoid father whisks the boys away. Much of the book, then, is Emily pining for Sam and knowing that somehow the two will meet again, even after the boys are presumed dead. This is definitely a heartprint book. The only reservation I have about it is that it seems to wrap up things a little bit too neatly at the end–even for very minor, barely-mentioned characters. And finally, I wonder how many teens and preteens will know that the Jackson 5 song for which the book is titled.

The Dreamer by Pam Munoz Ryan is a fictionalized biography of Pablo Neruda, born Netfali Reyes. Although I was not familiar with this Nobel Prize-winning poet, I now want to read more of his works. Ryan’s story focuses mostly around the Neruda’s childhood and his overbearing father who tried his best to steer young Netfali away from his passion: the arts. The book is sprinkled with Neruda’s poetry as well as simple yet powerful drawings by Peter Sis. Give this book to striving artists and introspective students.

I am reviewing The Incredible Plate Tectonics Comic by Kanani K.M. Lee and Adam Wallenta for Library Media Connection, so I can’t say much. I do find it interesting that this graphic informational text is by a husband-wife team. He is a long-time illustrator for Marvel and DC, and she is an associate professor of Geology and Geophysics at Yale University.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

I am squeezing in a few more informational texts before the end of 2014, so I am reading How Do You Burp in Space? by Susan E. Goodman.

I am on the last CD of the audiobook of Daniel Kraus’ Scowler . I think the fact that I am listening to it slowly makes the book even more suspenseful and disturbing.

 

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 12/1/14

  1. The Dreamer is one I’ve been meaning to get to for awhile. I do love Neruda’s poetry and would love to learn more about his childhood. And I hear you on the online shopping! It’s by far my preferred way to shop too.

  2. I have loved everything I’ve read by Pam Munoz Ryan so I have to get The Dreamer. Scowler is one of those titles I will avoid. I agree that listening to a suspenseful book is more intense than reading it with your eyes. For me this is because I tend to skip the really scary bits, something that is nearly impossible while listening.

  3. Oh my goodness, I can’t imagine listening to Scowler on audio book – it is just so disturbing! Having it read aloud to you simply gives me the shivers. Pablo Neruda has been the love of my life ever since my university days. I am so glad you enjoyed The Dreamer – I fell in love with that book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

