It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/24/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books: 

I liked last week’s format, so I am using it again. If I have more to write in the future about a particular book, I will mix it up a bit.

Homesick by Kate Klise was a bit of a mixed bag for me. While I liked the subject matter: a boy must live in a hoarder home with his dad and is ultimately helped by neighbors and a tornado, of all things, I also couldn't get past a few things. As a mother, I just can;t see how Benny's mom would leave him in a dangerous, filthy place when she, herself, fled. And if everyone in town knew about the state of the home, why wasn't Benny removed from it? Guess I just couldn't suspend disbelief that much.
Homesick by Kate Klise was a bit of a mixed bag for me. While I liked the subject matter: a boy must live in a hoarder home with his dad and is ultimately helped by neighbors and a tornado, of all things, I also couldn’t get past a few plot points. As a mother, I just can’t see how Benny’s mom would leave him in a dangerous, filthy place when she, herself, fled. And if everyone in town knew about the state of the home, why wasn’t Benny removed from it? Guess I just couldn’t suspend disbelief that much.
I reviewed all six books in Enslow's forthcoming series 11 Science Experiments in One Hour or Less. I am not supposed to share comments until my review is published, but if you check my Goodreads, you'll see that I gave each book one star.
I reviewed all six books in Enslow’s forthcoming series 11 Science Experiments in One Hour or Less. I am not supposed to share comments until my review is published, but if you check my Goodreads, you’ll see that I gave each book one star. I feel I must point out that this is a reflection on the publisher and not on the author.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

So if you read the comments on past posts, you will see that this is one of the creepiest books ever. EVER.
So if you read the comments on past posts, you will see that this is one of the creepiest books ever. EVER.
Need to finish for my new book club meeting on Tuesday.
Need to finish for my new book club meeting on Tuesday.
4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/24/14

    1. I’m not sure. Obviously a lot of what bothers me stems from my feelings of responsibility as an adult. So students may not have a similar response. Thanks for pointing that out. It makes me want to give the book to a few students who have book conversations with me regularly so I can find out what they think.

  1. Have I shared with you my review of Scowler? I paired it with Saenz’ Last Night I sang to the monster – not as creepy, but definitely disturbing and heart-wrenching. 🙂

Leave a Reply

