It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/17/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books: 

Short and sweet edition for this busy week.

Still beefing up my Shusterman "read it"-list as he is visiting in just over one week!
I now know what my sister has loved so well for so many years. What a fascinating look at the afterlife. And I love how all the characters are not what they seem at first–sometimes even to themselves.
42miles
This short novel in verse is about JoEllen, who feels she has been living two different lives since her parents divorce…and what happens when she decides she’s had enough of that. Although I enjoyed this novel in verse, it felt rushed to me. I needed more between JoEllen’s decision and it coming to fruition.
camogirl
Eleanor and Z have been two against the world for most of elementary school, with Eleanor taking care of Z, for the most part. Z reminds me of a mini-Sheldon Cooper–very smart yet puzzled by and not interested in the rest of the world. When Bailey moves in, he starts to stand up for Eleanor, who has been bullied because of the different colored pigmentation of her skin. But Eleanor’s new friendship is not comfortable for Z, and he does something dangerous.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Currently Reading/Listening To:

illbethere
This one is for the staff book club at one of my schools. It’s by the same author as Counting by 7s.
Things are heating up as I listen to this during my commute, which I can only do half of the week since I drive my son the other half. Not sure he is quite ready for this one.
Still listening and still creeped out.
homesick
I started reading this today when the internet–and circulation system–was down in our district. Free reading was a relaxing way to start the week with students in the IMC.

 

 

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 11/17/14

Leave a Reply

