It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/6/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Book:

unwhollyI thoroughly enjoyed UnWholly, Neal Shusterman’s follow-up to Unwind.

Here’s what the three main characters from the first book are up to. Connor is the new caretaker of the airplane graveyard, where runaway unwinds are kept safe until they turn 17, as a new law has reduced the maximum age for unwinding. Risa is the chief medic there, and she is wheelchair bound as a result of the chop shop explosion and her refusal to accept a new unwound spine. Lev has recently been released from prison and must volunteer his time at a center that kidnaps tithes and reprograms them for reentry into society at age 17.

Readers also meet Miracolina, a tithe who strongly resists reprogramming and fascinates Lev. And then there’s Camus Comprix. As if it isn’t bad enough that unwinding occurs, Camus is a person(?) created from all unwound parts; so he is not born, but made. It’s fascinating to watch his development and frightening to witness his obsession with Risa.

The best part about UnWholly is the world-building. Readers get more insight into a society that could allow such things to be done to its young people. I absolutely loved how Shusterman included excerpts of political ads, television commercials, and the like so readers would be immersed in the culture. UnSouled is now creeping to the top of my TBR pile!

Currently Reading/Listening to:

moonovermanifest
I made great progress on this audiobook while traveling to and from the Illinois Reading Council conference in Springfield.
Under My Hat is a great short story book for "edge time" reading. So far my favorite tale has been "Payment Due" by Frances Hardinge.
A great mix so far. Just one short story left, and I’ll be done!

 

 

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 10/6/14

  1. The Shusterman books got a bit confusing for me, sadly. I adored Unwind but thought it should have been a stand alone, even though I usually want more of everything by Shusterman.

    1. UnDivided comes out on October 16th, I hear.
      Our district is hosting an author visit from Shusterman at all four middle schools in just over a month.
      We are all excited!

  2. I really need to get my hands on an audiobook of Unwind. I cannot, for the life of me, actually read that book. I have tried about three times. In theory I should love it. It sounds like the perfect book for me, but we just don’t click. I find that audiobooks often help when I run into this problem. Thanks for sharing! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-29j

Leave a Reply

