It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/22/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

night_eternalThe Night Eternal is the final book in The Strain trilogy. Finishing it means that I have read six adult books so far this calendar year–which is way, way up for me. I have always been a fan of horror, and I really like how this tale of a vampire take-over played out. Both the humans and the vampires follow their paths that had been set up in the first two books. A few additional characters moved the story along to its inevitable conclusion–a final showdown between Ephraim Goodweather, formerly of the CDC, and The Master, the vampire who has been pulling all the strings and commanding the hive-minded creatures of the night. It will continue to be interesting to see how it all translates to television, as I am now a few episodes behind.

chompAfter reading and listening to some horror stories, I found it somewhat of a relief to read a fun book by Carl Hiaasen. Chomp is the story of Wahoo Cray, a boy who lives among a slew of wild animals that his father wrangles. When the opportunity comes to provide animals for the hugely popular television show, Expedition Survival!, Wahoo’s dads jumps at the chance to get back up to speed on their mortgage and other bills. It’s not long before the two realize that TV star Derek Badger is a pampered poser who doesn’t do his own stunts and stays in a hotel or trailer between shoots. The scenes with Derek is where Hiaasen’s trademark humor plays the biggest part. There is also a sub-plot about Wahoo’s friend Tuna, a girl running away from her abusive father. The action is definitely what drives the story, however, and Hiaasen fans will not be disappointed.

Currently Reading/Listening To:

undermyhatrotters

 

 

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/22/14

    1. I haven’t read any books in the Skink series, but I might have to start. I like the idea that it is darker, and I bet, then, meatier. I have always found Hiaasen’s books to be fun but not exactly thought-provoking.

  1. I bought the first book in The Strain series – because, well, Guillermo del Toro – and I’ve always gravitated towards horror. Not sure if I’d be able to get to it this year though, but looking forward to relishing it. I’m waiting until the entire series is finished before my husband and I start watching it. Exactly my kind of tv series. 🙂

    1. I am definitely starting to see the wisdom in watching series when they are complete, but then there is also the ratings–will the networks keep making ones I like if I am not tuning in week-to-week. As for The Strain, it is a very satisfying adaptation so far.

Leave a Reply

