It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 9/8/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Book:

graduation-dayThis week I finished the Testing trilogy. Graduation Day by Joelle Charbonneau continued the story of Cia Vale and her quest to end the barbaric practices of the University, especially the Testing procedure itself. When the president of the Commonwealth gives her a hit list of key players who seek to protect and expand the Testing, Cia is warily moved to action. Throughout the book, Cia’s greatest challenge is knowing whom to trust, and the reader wonders about it just as much as she does. I have seen mixed reviews of this final book of the series, but I think it is very much in keeping with the first two books and events carry through to a logical and satisfying conclusion. One thing that struck me is that while Cia thinks through her actions and their consequences very carefully, she seems less reluctant to take violent action and even commit the ultimate act of murder than characters in similar works (Katniss, Tris, etc.).

Currently Reading/Listening To:

night_eternal rottersI’m taking time to read an adult novel, as The Strain TV series is amping up, and I want to have read the final book, The Night Eternal before the show catches up to it.

Rotters is still making my car drives very creepy. I’m about halfway through know, since I don’t have a long commute. My mom, who reads my blog (Hi, Mom 🙂 ) just finished reading the book and says it is very unsettling in print format, too (in case you were wondering).

 

Leave a Reply

