August Random Read

undermyhatIt is wwwaaayyyy past time for a new Random Read, which also counts for Gathering Books’ CORL 2014, of course. I usually post this on the first day of the month, but it’s still August, so it still counts 😉

The random.org website gave me #86 on my Shelfari “Plan to Read” shelf, so this month I will read Under My Hat: Tales from the Cauldron, a short story collected edited by Jonathan Strahan. Contributing authors include Garth Nix, Holly Black, and Neil Gaiman. What a perfect book for the start of school, since I can dip in and read one story at a time! Edge time reading, anyone? 🙂 And I am already booked to read Halloween stories to 7th graders, so I will be on the lookout for a good read-aloud as I go along. It seems that “random” worked out well in my favor this time around.

I’ll also update my year’s progress through the end of July.

2014 Challenges: July Progress

  • Goodreads goal of 125 books in 2014: 10 this month; 84 total
  • CORL 2014 goal of 25+ books from my “plan to read” shelf: 2 this month–Accomplice by Eireann Corrigan; The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. 12 total. I still need to step up on this one!
  • Random Reads goal of 1 book per month: Accomplice by Eireann Corrigan

 

Leave a Reply

