It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/7/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

feedAt my almost 12-year-old son’s urging, I read Mira Grant’s Feed, a YA zombie novel. Or maybe it would be considered New Adult, as Georgia (George) and Shaun are sibling bloggers/reporters working on a presidential political campaign, and they seem to be late teens/early twenties. What I liked most about this book is its world-building. Grant vividly imagines the societal changes that would be a necessity of living in a world where zombies roam the earth. Her interest in virology shines through, as many details are shared about how the Kellis-Amberlee virus caused the initial outbreak, how it is spread, detected, and more. So there is lots of science to go along with the action and horror of this book. The voice in this book is particularly strong; Georgia Mason is a definitely a bad-ass main character, and her quest to report the truth and get to the bottom of a conspiracy to derail Senator Ryman’s campaign is unflagging. I also love that director George Romero is often credited with teaching this zombie-apocalypse society how to stay alive with his films. My son and I enjoyed discussing this book together, although I had to warn him a few times about “spoilers.” We are both looking forward to reading the other two books in the series together.

fairytalesI started out intending to read a picture book every day I was reading Feed in order to maintain my Book-A-Day; however, holiday weekend preparations and activities took precedence. I did read e.e. cummings’ Fairy Tales, a book I received from my husband at Christmas. Three of these stories were created for cummings’ daughter, Nancy, from whom he was then estranged for many years following his divorce. The fourth was reportedly written for his grandson when the two were reunited. They are strange little tales, but the theme throughout is the importance of friendship and love and how we should be dedicated to spreading each.

centerofeverythingI also have finally gotten around to reading The Center of Everything by Linda Urban. I am glad that I waited until the summer, as I was able to enjoy it with few interruptions. I love the point of view in this book. Ruby Pepperdine is awaiting giving her winning speech in the annual Bunning Day parade and slowly reveals the events that have affected her life over the past few months. It’s like peeling the layers of an onion, and includes a few tears as well. In it, Ruby experiences the pressures of an old friendship, the excitement of a new friendship, the loss of her dear grandmother, Gigi, and the hopes that an important wish will come true. And it all comes together at the end. Beautifully.

Currently Reading:

accomplice

 My dark Random Read for July.

On Deck:

thetesting

I mean it this time.

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 7/7/14

  1. I’ve not heard of Feed and I generally like not gross zombie books … stories that have more too them then just slicing off heads and such. Must add it to the TBR list. Also I need to bump Linda Urban up on the list. Her stuff looks great but I keep putting it off.

  2. I love everything Linda Urban. Center of Everything was the first book of hers that I read. I need to go back and reread it. Crooked Kind of Perfect might be my favorite. I have read good things about Feed. That’s not the kind of book I usually read, but I have to say that after reading your review, I’m intrigued. Think I’ll look for it at the library.

  3. I’ve read a lot of good reviews about The Testing. Seems to have an interesting premise. I’ve heard about Feed. I’ve read quite a lot of zombie novels, so it would be good to see how this particular one differs from all the rest.

Leave a Reply

