It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 5/19/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Book:

water castleThe Water Castle by Megan Frazer Blakemore tells the story of Ephraim and his family, who move into their ancestral home when the father suffers a stroke. It has been a long time since any of the Appledores have lived in the home, and the the residents of Crystal Springs, Maine have many stories to tell about it, including the legend that the Fountain of Youth may be found there. Ephraim meets Will Wylie and Mallory Green, two kids his age whose family’s have been linked to the Appledores throughout history. They become an unlikely trio as they investigate the Water Castle’s secrets, attempting to help Ephraim find the key to curing his father. Interspersed throughout the book are passages of a journal which tell the story of the Appledores, Wylies, and Darlings of 1908-1909 and their experience with the fabled magical water and interest in the discovery of the North Pole.

I liked this middle grade book, but I didn’t love it. I know that many people have enjoyed and praised this book, but for me the disparate parts just didn’t seems to come together as satisfyingly as I would have liked. And I would have liked more answers than mystery at the end. That said, I can think of several of my fantasy-loving students whom I would like to see give it a try.

Currently Reading:

body in the woodsI’m a about 75% done with this book, and I have quite enjoyed it so far. More later….

On Deck:

thisjournalbelongstoratchetThis one’s been in the TBR pile for a while.

3 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 5/19/14

  1. I’m hoping to read The Water Castle sometime this summer, but then I’ve got about 500 other books in my TBR pile too, so who knows if I will get to it? I appreciated reading your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

