It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 4/28/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Book:

missperegrine'shome Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children was one of my two World Book Night giveaway books, and I was only about a quarter of the way through it when I gave books out Wednesday night at our local ice rink. It was my goal to read it before distribution, but that didn’t happen–which bugs me as I think I could have “sold” it much better had I completed the book in time. I definitely would have played up the X-Men angle, which I didn’t know about because I didn’t want any spoilers for the book. Next year I will have learned my lesson! (and next year I will post about World Book Night–non-stop crazy week for me this time)

Anyway…the book has been around long enough that most people are familiar with the plot, so I won’t go into too much detail except to say that teenage Jacob travels to an island off the coast of Wales after his grandfather’s death to find out his tales of children with uncanny abilities is true–and then some! I found the first part of the book to be entirely gripping. I REALLY wanted to know just what happened to grandpa and just what was terrorizing Jacob so much that even intense therapy was not helping. The story bogged down a little for me in the middle, as Jacob did a lot of wandering around the island and house, and even some of the scenes with the children seemed a bit long. However, things picked right back up toward the end when Miss Peregrine herself faced danger and the rescue/battle against the monster began. I was definitely surprised by a few elements (no spoilers), and they definitely moved the book up a notch for me. And, of course, the weaving of the photographs into the story really worked for me, too. I am glad there is a sequel, Hollow City, and a just-published graphic novel adaptation, too.

Currently Reading:

beforeyougo

Just in time for the end of the month, since this is my April Random Read….

On Deck:

snicker of magic

I have been saying I would read this one for about a month now and it is LITERALLY on top of my TBR pile in my (storage) end table at home. I promise (myself mostly).

6 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 4/28/14

  1. I thought I had bought Snicker and misplaced it, so I looked everywhere for it and couldn’t find it. Then I decided that I MEANT to buy it but didn’t–so I bought it either for the first time or for the second time this weekend. Can’t wait to read it! I’m perhaps the last person in the world to get to Miss Peregrine’s Children–maybe this summer? It certainly sounds interesting from your description.

  2. Snicker of Magic is in my very soon reading future as well. Glad to see that I am not the only person in the universe who hasn’t read it! I too need to read Miss Peregrine. Maybe this summer? It is on my bookshelf.

Leave a Reply

