Challenge: April Random Read

It’s time for a new Random Read, which also counts for Gathering Books’ CORL 2014, of course. And cool news: I won a prize for participating in CORL 2014–can’t wait to find out what it is!

The random.org website gave me #94 on my Shelfari “Plan to Read” shelfBefore You Go by James Preller. This is the third “dark” book in a row. I’m considering making “Paint it Black” by The Rolling Stones the official theme song for my Shelfari “Plan to Read” shelf.

beforeyougoHere’s the Goodreads summary:

The summer before his senior year, Jude (yes, he’s named after the Beatles song) gets his first job, falls in love for the first time, and starts to break away from his parents. Jude’s house is kept dark, and no one talks much—it’s been that way since his little sister drowned in a swimming pool seven years ago when Jude was supposed to be watching her.

Now, Jude is finally, finally starting to live. Really live. And then, life spins out of control. Again.

2014 Challenges: March Progress

  • Goodreads goal of 125 books in 2014: 7 this month; 40 total
  • CORL 2014 goal of 25+ books from my “plan to read” shelf: 2 this month–Thirteen Days to Midnight and The Archived; 6 total
  • Random Reads goal of 1 book per month: Thirteen Days to Midnight
8 thoughts on “Challenge: April Random Read

  1. That sounds really good! I really like the cover. My random reads picks have been all over the place. Last month I read historical fiction (Out of the Easy, loved it). This month I have a Victorian mystery. Enjoy and congrats on your prize. ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-1WB

Leave a Reply

