It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/24/14


It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

The iPad book

FINALLY, I finished Ilsa J. Bick’s White Space. Although I have her Ashes trilogy in my library, this is the first title of hers I have read. I can say it’s been a long time since i have read a book quite as complex as this one. After introducing one of the main characters, Emma, who frequently “blinks” out of her current time and place, Bick drops readers into the middle of the action, introducing new characters at lightning speed and sometimes ending chapters in mid-sentence. How these characters all tie together is at equal times fascinating and confusing, and it all has to do with fictional author Frank McDermott, his daughter Elizabeth, and real author Charles Dickens (kinda sorta). Did I mention that it was terribly gory? This is definitely one of the most disturbing and graphic YA horror novels I have read, and Bick’s monsters remind me of John Carpenter’s The Thing as well as Lovecraft’s beasts. This book would most appeal to avid high school and adult horror readers and those who enjoyed such movies as Memento and Being John  Malkovich. I’m still trying to fully wrap my mind around it, especially since it ends in such a strange place/way and there will be a sequel.

13DaysToMidnightSo I went from one dark book to another, but this one I finished very quickly as I am on Spring Break (and there was much rejoicing–yay!). Thirteen Days to Midnight by Patrick Carman is about the responsibilities and perils of great power. Jacob’s foster father’s last words before the two have a head-on collision with a giant tree are “You are indestructible.” When Jacob writes it on the cast of the beautiful new girl at school, Ophelia (Oh for short), they discover the power to escape injury and even death. Jacob, Oh, and Jacob’s best friend Milo devise a series of experiments to see just how the power works and how it can be transferred from Jacob to others for their protection. The power soon becomes addicting, and Oh begins to lurk on police scanners to find people for Jacob to save. But the three discover that it’s not that simple–when death and injury are avoided they just don’t “go away.” That becomes most evident when Oh becomes more and more obsessed with the power, and it changes her. Carman’s tale is not only chilling but also thought-provoking, and is another book which has kept me thinking long after reading the last page. I’m glad that it was my Random Read for March and that it counts for my CORL 2014 goal as well.

Currently Reading:

NL_JacketCover

I am relatively new to blogging, so I haven’t really participated in a book launch until now. But how could I resist when I got an email asking me to become a member of the Ninja Librarian Recon Team?

I started The Ninja Librarians: The Accidental Keyhand by Jen Swann Downey last night, and it’s a very exciting read so I am already halfway through. I’m reserving comment until I finish, but in the meantime if you find the idea of being a Ninja Librarian intriguing (like I do) then you can check out the book trailer and an excerpt from the first chapter.

On Deck:

GrasshopperJungle

I am beyond excited that Andrew Smith’s Grasshopper Jungle arrived on my doorstep today. I have been hearing such good things about it, yet been able to remain spoiler-free  for the most part. I was waiting to borrow it from our literacy coach, but when I saw that Daniel Kraus had included it on his “Read-alikes: The New Vonneguts” list, I had to immediately order it from Amazon.

7 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/24/14

  1. I just checked out Grasshopper Jungle from the library this weekend. Now if I could just finish a few books I’m in the middle of so I felt like it was ok to start yet another book. Of course, when has that ever stopped me before? Hope you enjoy participating in a new book launch! How exciting!

  2. Thirteen Days to Midnight sounds like a novel I’d enjoy. I like dark-edged novels more than I should, I know. Haha. I also own Grasshopper Jungle and can’t wait to dive into it. Great to hear people’s thoughts about it.

Leave a Reply

