It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/10/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

I did a little better than last week–I finished one book. And it was the “on deck” one I started fresh and hadn’t been already reading the week before!?!  Last week, I identified part of the problem as spending  too much time on fb and twitter.  I decided to dust of the Nook Color and try reading on that soon to see if that would help me stop “checking things” online like I do on the iPad. Of course, one of my current books is on the iPad, so I am going to try turning off the WiFi to see if that works.

SummerReading-AllingtonSummer Reading: Closing the Rich/Poor Reading Achievement Gap by Richard L. Allington and Anne McGill-Franzen gave me lots of food for thought. Summer reading loss is an alarming problem that needs to be addressed by schools everywhere. Even though the two communities my students come from both have amazingly successful summer reading programs offered by their public libraries, many of the children who need summer reading most don’t take advantage of those programs.

Allington urges that it is the schools which must take measures to push books to their students during their months away and gives examples of successful programs. I have to admit I felt somewhat ashamed when Allington mentioned all the books just sitting unused in libraries all summer because librarians are afraid they won’t come back. I am currently talking with one of the Lit teachers at my school about a spring/summer book club that could be kicked off with her World Reading Night book distribution and would meet every week or two. Opening my library’s doors and getting books into the hands of kids is definitely a goal of mine. Stay tuned.

Currently (still) Reading:

On Deck:

Not committing to anything new right now. Gotta get my head back in the game!

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/10/14

  1. The Summer Reading book sounds like a great professional book. It makes sense that schools should be working on programs to get kids reading over the summer. Looks like you have three great books that you are reading right now. I enjoyed White Space although I wish the sequel were already out, because I wanted more explanation at the end. Have a good reading week!

    1. White Space is starting to freak me out a bit. It’s been a while since I’ve read such a disjointed (in a good way) narrative. That makes a scary book even scarier.

Leave a Reply

