It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/3/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

I didn’t finish a single book…because I am now reading three at once. In my defense, I am supposed to be reading one slowly (see below). Not in my defense, I have spent too much time on fb and twitter. I need to unplug, which is hard when one of my books is on the iPad. You know what? I’ll just do better this week.

Currently Reading:

I am enjoying participating in Batty About Book’s virtual book club for The Archived by Victoria Schwab. This is the book I am reading slowly–well, in increments anyway. And the first chunk ended with a cliffhanger!

White Space by Ilsa J. Bick is the first title of hers I have read, even though I have the Ashes series in my library. I am finding it a challenging read since the point of view changes abruptly and often (on purpose), and I haven’t read anything in quite that style for a while. And about a quarter of the way in it is getting quite horrific in both story line and descriptive language–which works for me as I love horror books.

My husband bought me Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by The Women Who Love It, edited by Lynne M. Johnson and Tara O’Shea. The title pretty much says it all, and I am enjoying reading it an essay at a time during “edge time” (Thank you, Donalyn Miller, for coining that term). It’s nice to pick up a book of that sort when I have a few spare moments here and there.

On Deck:

SummerReading-AllingtonI am adding one more book to my plate for this week. Next week, I will be attending and presenting at the Illinois Reading Council Conference. In addition, I have been asked to serve as host for one of Richard L. Allington’s sessions. I purchased his book, Summer Reading: Closing the Rich/Poor Reading Achievement Gap a while back, and now is certainly the time to read it! Even though I will have a script to introduce Dr. Allington, I still want to be more familiar with his work than I have become by just reading some of his articles.

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/3/14

  1. I hear you about the need to unplug. I have spent most of my writing and reading time this week on Twitter and catching up on reading blogs. I do value and appreciate that time too, but sometimes I’m just sitting there refreshing the page, hoping that something new pops up. I end up feeling like I just binged on candy! I read so many books at once, it’s a miracle I ever finish anything! I’ve been following along on some of The Archived discussion on blogs–will have to eventually read that one, I think.

  2. Chicks dig time lords looks like a mighty fun read. Were still on Season 3 of Doctor Who, so lots of catching up to, admittedly. Have a great reading week.

    1. One of the fun things about the book is that many of the essays were written when everyone knew Ten was leaving and they hadn’t announced Matt Smith as Eleven yet 🙂

Leave a Reply

