It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/24/14

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

Oddly, both of my finished books were adult books this week!

closereadingI have been reading Falling in Love with Close Reading by Christopher Lehman and Kate Roberts (2013) a little at a time over the last few weeks. I think it serves as an excellent introduction to the topic–because I was a newbie going in and I feel that I now have a basic idea of what close reading is. In fact, given my newbie status and the fact that I teach interventions, I must admit that I am not quite ready to implement the practices and lesson ideas included here. However, I know a few literature teachers to direct to this book, and I know I can go back to it when I am ready.

no-impact-man-bookI must confess that I never planned to read No Impact Man by Colin Beavan (2009) this week or anywhere in the near future. It’s a book that I heard about probably more than a year ago and then requested on Paperback Swap. My request was fulfilled a couple of months ago, and it had been sitting on my bookshelf since then. What happened? Well, I left my iPad at school Friday night and couldn’t read my e-book (tried to get it on another device with no luck (long story)) And then I had a leisurely Saturday morning in which I finished reading No Impact Man.

Anyway, this book is about author Colin Beavan and his family’s one-year project in which they would strive to make no waste. Why? The short answer: so he could write the book. The somewhat longer answer: because Beavan worries that we are killing our planet and that he wants to align his way of life to not contribute to the problem. It was interesting to read about the ways in which Beavan, his wife Michelle, and their toddler daughter completely changed their daily routines, habits, and more over the year. More interesting is the way in which these changes made their lives richer and their relationships stronger. Although I could never go to the extremes the Beavans did, there is much food for thought in this book. And in addition to Beavan’s engaging narrative, the book’s back matter is filled with fascinating information and resources for further study.

Currently Reading:

whitespace

The e-book on iPad left at school.

archiveralongI am excited to be participating in Batty About Books’ Virtual Book Club, where we are reading The Archived by Victoria Schwab. There’s still time to join us–start here.

On Deck:

dangerous-medium

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 2/24/14

    1. Make sure you stick with it through the first bits if you do–it is confusing at the beginning because she just dumps you into a place and you have to figure out what’s going. The book is really making me think!

  1. No Impact Man sounds really familiar to me. Is there a documentary perhaps? I enjoy nonfiction books about experiments in living, so this sounds like one I would like. I think Falling in Love with Close Reading is going to be my next PD read.

  2. I love how certain books just manage to find us at the strangest of times. Just like the way No Impact Man seemed to have found you. Looks like an interesting read, just like The Archived. Have a great reading week, Michelle!

Leave a Reply

