It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 2/17/14

It’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

It was a busy-in-the-evenings sort of week, so I didn’t get as much reading done as I usually do.

g is for gold medalG is for Gold MedalAn Olympics Alphabet by Brad Herzog was a book I received by mistake in my Scholastic Book Club shipment. The customer service rep. said I could just keep it, and since I have Winter Olympics Fever, I decided it was fate and I should read it. There was a great deal of information jam-packed into this picture-book sized title, but I was not wild about how it was presented and organized. The alphabet part of the book seemed forced at times. And the information passages were definitely interesting and thorough, but they didn’t always go with the featured letter. So my assessment is that as an alphabet book this book doesn’t work too well, but readers interested in the Olympics will be happy with what they find here.

The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim by E.K. Johnston (netgalley)I finished The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim by E. K. Johnston tonight, and I love so many things about it that it is hard to separate them right now 🙂 But I will definitely have to sort it all out because I plan to write a review sometime this week, as the book’s release date is March 1, 2014. Suffice it to say that if you have seen it and have been wondering if you should pre-order it, my answer is a resounding “YES!”

Currently Reading:

closereading

Falling in Love with Close Reading by Christopher Lehman and Kate Roberts. I finally ordered the book earlier this week not only because I teach reading intervention, but also because I have thoroughly enjoyed following Lehman’s blog posts and tweets. I have just barely started the book and already have a crush on close reading 🙂

On Deck (still):

The Archived

whitespace

8 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are you Reading? 2/17/14

  1. I am curious about Owen. I am looking for some new books for my middle school students ( 6th grade only). I need something that will appeal to both boys and girls. Guitar Notes has been a good fit for this purpose as well as Insignia. Do you suppose the Owen book would also?

    1. Definitely a book for both–Siobhan, the narrator, is Owen’s bard, and her voice is fantastic. This will be for your stronger or fantasy genre readers because there’s a lot of history included in the world building.

    1. I was thrown into teaching interventions this year after 17 years of school librarianship (I still do both). I got great training, given the short amount of time the district allowed our trainers, but I am definitely still catching up so books like this one are a GIANT help.

  2. Falling in Love with Close Reading is my next PD read! I enjoy both authors’ blogs, so I am sure I will enjoy the book too. I have a feeling that as soon as I read it, I am going to want to incorporate different strategies into my classes!

  3. Hello there Michelle. I also have a copy of Falling in Love with Close Reading, but haven’t gotten around to it yet as much as I should. I am currently devouring more books about the psychology of reading for a research proposal I would be drafting very soon. The Story of Owen looks interesting – dragons are in! 🙂 Have a great reading week.

Leave a Reply

