#Nerdlution 2: Electric Boogaloo

nerdlution colorSorry, I just couldn’t resist. My husband and I have a running joke about anything that has a part 2. Hopefully, some of you got that old pop culture reference–if not, just google it and save me the embarrassment 😉

Anyway, I am so excited about the second round of #nerdlution! And even more excited now that I get to start it on our 5th cold/snow day of the month. Don’t get me wrong–I love my students, but I am also programmed to get as giddy about a snow day as they do.

I recapped the first round here, but at that time I wasn’t thinking about my reading goal too much. It was to read at least 30 minutes a day, and I never had to work to make it, so I think I am safe to bypass that one this time. I will still read…a lot….

So, after I sleep in tomorrow, I will get to work on Day 1 of these four goals.

1. I will write for at least 15 minutes per day. This goal really paid off, as I increased my number of blog posts per week, and I enjoyed every moment of it. I never found it a chore to write; rather, I looked forward to it. But I know myself and that I still need to keep this as a goal.

2. I will “create” for at least 15 minutes per day. This is an “old” goal, too, and I am so glad I chose it the first time because it got me back into knitting again. I didn’t realize how much I missed this hobby until I started it back up. So that goal stays, too.

3. I will purge at least 3 items per day. I feel the need to declutter and get organized, and this goal will help. I am counting items I donate, recycle, or throw away that have been sitting around unused for too long or never should have been held on to in the first place. Anything counts: clothes, gadgets, paperwork, etc. I think this will work better for me than my old cleaning goal.

4. I will complete one “random act of kindness” per day. I was so inspired by Patrick Andrus‘ goal last time! He was very creative in his ways to do good, and I want to join the bandwagon. This is new goal #2 (electric boogaloo).

Finally, I am borrowing something else from Patrick–updating my goal progress on a daily basis. Not only will this hold me accountable, but it will also give me better insight into my progress and make it easier to reflect at the end of this round, which I heard is on St. Patrick’s Day. So I guess all that’s left to say is please wish me GOOD LUCK , and I hope you join in, too 🙂

3 thoughts on “#Nerdlution 2: Electric Boogaloo

  1. I totally get your Electric Bugaloo reference! I am still working on my goals for Round 2, but I’m thinking about 10 minutes of daily writing in my writer’s notebook. I didn’t set it as a goal for Round 1, because I was writing every day over Xmas break, but then the semester started, and I’ve barely written at all since then. I am also doing a 21 days of random acts of kindness goal for an interdisciplinary course I’m co-teaching on Happiness, so I think I might add that to my #nerdlution. I was also inspired by Patrick’s posts! I love your de-clutter idea too!

    1. I have to admit if I am stuck for a “random” idea I will take a peek back at his posts! Glad you are joining in, too. Good luck with all of your goals, Elisabeth 🙂

Leave a Reply

