Pull Up a Chair, It’s a Saturday Book Share: Stitch ‘N Bitch by Debbie Stoller

Saturday Book Share

Time to share a book that strikes my fancy today. Kudos got to the Styling Librarian for the fun meme 🙂

Thanks to my #nerdlution goal of “creating” for 15 minutes per day, I have revived my knitting hobby. I learned eight or so years ago while on vacation, when my sister and mom took me to a crafting meeting. I came home with yarn and needles and somewhat of an idea of how to do it again by myself. So I decided I needed a knitting reference book (or six) to help me out.

stitch_bitchSince that time I have acquired more knitting books than someone of my skill level deserves. My all-time favorite that I always go back to is Stitch ‘N Bitch: The Knitter’s Handbook by Debbie Stoller. Initially attracted by its irreverent title (of course), I have found it to be an invaluable resource. I have read it from cover to cover, and I thoroughly enjoy Stoller’s tone. I feel as if a friend (wine glass in hand) is talking me through the challenges and pitfalls of knitting. New stitches and skills are taught sequentially and the diagrams are uber-helpful. The index of the book is wonderful. I know that because I am forced to consult it often, as I can’t remember the abbreviations of “fancy” stitches (or how to make them). The second half of the book is filled with patterns that build from beginner to advanced levels. I have worked my way through a few of them and will eventually try some more, but I have to admit that I will probably not ever tackle the Queen of Hearts and Wonder Woman bikinis 🙂

hockey knitsSo I thank Debbie Stoller for helping me experience my hobby on a continuing basis. Without her, I would not have been able to make such things as hats and sweaters to send away to charity for preemie babies, wristbands and hair bands for my niece, three cunning Firefly Jayne hats (knitted over three snow days a couple of years ago), and the hats and skate booties I just made for a baby shower tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

