It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 1/6/14

IMWAYRIt’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journey. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

FotorFinal

Lexicon by Max Barry was my first book of the year for 2014, and I must say that it was refreshing to stretch my adult reading muscles with this complex and thought-provoking book. There exists an Academy near Arlington, Virginia, where students learn the art of persuasion, not in the traditional sense, but by studying words at their most ancient level and by learning to determine the precise personality type of the person they wish to persuade. As you would imagine, this is a powerful science and art, and the “poets” who graduate become part of a powerful organization. Emily Ruff is a 16 year-old street kid who captures the attention of the Academy and finds herself thrust into its world. Meanwhile, Wil Parke is minding his own business at the airport when two poets capture him and take him on an adventure of mayhem and murder. He eventually learns that they refer to him as “the outlier” because he is immune to the power of the poets’ persuasion. The multiple narration and skewed timeline of the book add to the intrigue. Lexicon is certainly an amazing book about the power of words and love and free will. It made me think–really think–and gasp out loud, and it is a book I will not soon forget.

In addition to being my First Book of the Year 2014, Lexicon was on my Shelfari “plan to read list,” and so it also counts as my first Check Off Your Reading List (CORL 2014) book of the year, too 🙂

liar

Liar, Liar by Gary Paulsen is a short, funny story about middle-schooler Kevin, who falls head-over-heels in love with Tina in an instant. In order to impress her, he gets caught in one of the all-time biggest web of lies you will ever encounter. Readers won’t be able to stop feeling sorry for Kevin, even though all his troubles are of his own making. Follow-ups already available are Flat Broke, Crush, and Vote. Gary Paulsen just gets middle grade readers, and these books would all be welcome additions to libraries for them.

see you at harry'sSee You at Harry’s by Jo Knowles is such a heartprint book! 12-year-old Fern helps out at her family’s restaurant, senses changes in her relationship with long-time best friend, Ran, and tries to support her older brother, Holden, who has not yet “come out,” but still faces terrible bullying at school. A tragedy strikes the family, and I don’t want to tell you what it is because I didn’t know before I read the book and it made for a heart-wrenching experience. The members of Fern’s family respond to the situation and each other in a variety of ways, and readers feel it all, along with Fern. This is definitely one of the best realistic fiction novels I have read in the past year.

bad machineryBad Machinery, Vol.2: The Case of the Good Boy  by John Allison is a graphic novel I received in galley form from Library Media Connection. Until my review is published by LMC I can’t say much here. However I will say that I was not really motivated to look for volume 1 or to start reading the webcomic online.

Ray Bradbury2Switch on the Night by Ray Bradbury was my last Saturday Book Share. One of the things I love about visiting my local indie book store is finding things I never knew existed. This book was definitely an exciting find, and it was interesting to do a bit of research about it so I could share that with all of you, too.

Currently Reading:

shadow on the mountainShadow on the Mountain by Margi Preus
Time for a bit of historical fiction….

On Deck: 5th wave

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey
I have been in line for this e-book from my public library for quite a while, and it is finally my turn 🙂

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 1/6/14

  1. This is the second time this week that someone has mentioned Switch on the Night. I am guessing this is a book I need to go find! I also want to read See you at Harry’s and it keeps getting pushed aside. I think this just might be the time. Thanks!

  2. Michelle, I am a huge Bradbury fan. I’ve never heard of Switch on the Night. I just checked our libraries – it’s illustrated by the Dillons (hyperventilating now). Will definitely hunt this one down in our libraries. Bradbury can be quite addicting. It’s like after reading him, I can never ead anything else afterwards because he is so masterful in his storytelling. I love how you described See you at Harry’s, I never knew it was about this particular theme. We would have a diversity bimonthly theme soon, I shall add this to my list! Thank you also for joining the Check off your reading list challenge and including it in this post! So lovely! Here’s to more reading this 2014.

Leave a Reply

