It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 12/16/13

IMWAYRIt’s Monday! What are you Reading? is a meme started by Book Journeys. The folks over at Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers have given it a children’s/YA spin. I thought it would be a fun way to recap last week’s reading and give a sneak peek of my TBR pile.

Last Week’s Books:

ClockworkThreeThe Clockwork Three by Matthew J. Kirby was one of those adventurous-kids-solving-their-own-problems books, with a nod to steampunk and a dash of magic. The time and place was indefinite, but it felt like mid-nineteenth century, large East-coast city. Guiseppe, a street musician; Hannah, a maid; and Frederick, a clockmaker’s apprentice have great back-stories and their lives intertwine because of a green violin, a mysterious treasure hunt, and a clockwork man. It took me several days to read this book, and it seemed to bog down a little in the middle. But once all three of our characters assemble (on page 247) they work together to make everything turn out right in the end. In all, it was a satisfying read and a book I will recommend to fans of fantastical adventures.

titanic-voices-from-disasterI must admit that I was not one who got caught up in the 100th anniversary of the Titanic, but I did acquire some books for those who did. Titanic: Voices from the Disaster by Deborah Hopkinson was such an engaging read that I am glad I caught up with it this year. Hopkinson follows a variety of survivors from their boarding the great ship until after their rescue, allowing them to tell their own stories. This informational text is exemplary in that it provides an exciting narrative, fascinating photographs, and gripping quotes. Hopkinson is careful to distinguish between widely accepted beliefs and assumptions and verifiable facts. The back-matter is substantial and valuable and something all authors of informational texts should emulate. Particularly impressive is the inclusion of the lifeboat launching sequence, statistics about who lived and who died, and detailed source notes and photographic credits. Again, this book could serve as a model for future writers of information books.

Currently Reading:

small_elephantSmall as an Elephant  by Jennifer Richard Jacobson is a book I have been meaning to read for a while. Maybe next year I will get to the 2013 books in my TBR pile 😉 Anyway, “currently reading’ means I have just finished the second chapter–and I can already tell this is a heartprint book, as coined by JoEllen McCarthy of the Nerdy Book Club. If you have read it already, NO SPOILERS! 🙂

On Deck:

finest hoursoneformurphysThe Finest Hours: The True Story of a Heroic Sea Rescue by Michael Tougias and Casey Sherman is an e-galley I have on my iPad, so I thought I would continue my foray into reading about maritime disasters.

Yet another student told me to read One for the Murphys by Lynda Hunt, and it is FINALLY back in the library again, so I am going to grab it quickly!

Speaking of which, I am going to slowly bring home a few books each afternoon this week to build up a winter break TBR pile (an actual physical pile, not just a figurative one). It is always hard to estimate how many books I will read (and how many I will get for presents), but I KNOW that I really don’t want to walk back into school until break is over.

How many books do YOU read over the holidays?

9 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 12/16/13

  1. I’ll read a couple of books, but longer ones. I have too much fun with family to take time out to read too. There will be time after they leave to read. I need to read Bluffton too-it does sound good. And One For The Murphy’s is one I recommend over and over-please do read it! Thanks for all your other suggestions too!

    1. I always bring home more books than I need, of course. But the one thing i have found as I get older is that I can only sleep in so long–so when I wake up early and the house is all mine, I sit with a cup of tea and read. What bliss!

  2. You will love One for the Murphys. That is such a beautiful story. I am planning on reading many of the books I have stockpiled on my Kindle over break, because I will be traveling. It is hard to know how many books I will get to. Have a great reading week!

  3. Your fantastic to-be-read titles list are wonderful… Curious to see what you think about The Finest Hours, haven’t read that one. The Clockwork Three was quite the interesting book. Stuck with me for quite some time…

  4. I always think I will get lots of reading done over the holidays….but I never do! I am not even sure if I would have more success if I had a winter break. I love the cover for Small as an Elephant! Good luck with your holiday reading!

    1. Have you joined #nedlution? If not, check it out–it is helping me read at least 30 minutes per day 🙂 I am motivated to keep it up even during the busy holiday season. And Small as an Elephant has nothing–and yet everything–to do with elephants so far….

  5. That’s a good question. How many books to read during the break. Thing is, I don’t think I’d really have a ‘break’-break as I’d still be preparing for a course that I’d be teaching in January – which means reading up on children’s books and texts on children’s lit – which if you really think about it, isn’t half-bad at all. So I’m looking forward to that. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about these books with us. Clockwork Three has an interesting premise.

Leave a Reply

