Friday is for Celebrating Successes! 12/13/13

601px-Fireworks_at_the_celebration_of_the_United_States_4th_of_JulyFriday is not only for wrapping up the week and looking forward to the weekend, it is also for celebrating successes!

This Week’s Success #1: Books and Bites, Adventure Time Edition

On Wednesday, the teen librarians from the public libraries joined us for lunch and some great booktalks. It is one of my very favorite things to do with my students. You can see what I wrote about it and which books we featured here.

This Week’s Success #2: Cataloging

On Tuesday, I was thrilled to have cataloged 12 books, and I finished another six yesterday. It is wonderful to get new books out and into the hands of students.

This Week’s Success #3: Book Drive

Drive 32 concludes today–it’s my school’s effort to collect new and gently used books for children who are victims of last month’s tornadoes in Illinois. We have three full book carts and several extra boxes which will be on their way to Washington and Pekin next week. A shout-out to Angela Ray of Fox Creek Elementary IMC and her students for joining in our efforts!

This Week’s Success #4: #Nerdlution

#Nerdlution has been amazingly motivating to me! My house is cleaner, my books are getting read, I finished my niece’s cross-stitched Christmas ornament in record time, and I am writing every day. Well, except yesterday. Yesterday was the only day I have not met all of my goals. I am giving myself a break, though, because my husband and I were at school an extra five hours to work the concession stand to raise money for PBIS. Today I am going to meet all my goals–and go have fun at a hockey game, too. Already I can check “Write for 15 minutes a day” off my list 🙂

Leave a Reply

