You Say You Want a #Nerdlution

nerdlution colorWell, you know. We all want to change the world….

I read about the #Nerdlution Thanksgiving Twitter conversation just last night. A mash-up of “Nerdy” and “Resolution,” it seems to have really become somewhat of a movement/revolution among the Nerdy Book Club Community.

And so I am jumping in by giving myself a 30-15-30-15 challenge for these next 50 days.

1. I will read for at least 30 minutes a day. Sometimes I do more than that; sometimes I do less or none at all. I feel I am a better person when I get my reading in–both to myself and all those around me.

2. I will write for at least 15 minutes a day. Mostly for this blog. Which will increase my posting, and, thus, my interacting with the book-loving community. And it is already working, as I have two posts today–which is unprecedented! 🙂

3. I will clean house  for at least 30 minutes a day. This will probably be the toughest one to meet, honestly. I am thinking of looking back at some FlyLady posts to get some inspiration for this one.

4. I will create for at least 15 minutes a day. I’m leaving this one a little open to interpretation, but I do have three cross-stitch ornaments to make for Christmas. I started the tradition when my daughter was just born, and she will be getting her 18th ornament this year. My son and my niece will get ones to match their interests, too. I also want to make time to get back to knitting–even if it is just for 15 minutes. A scarf can grow quite a bit in 15 minutes….

So a great big “thank you” to Colby Sharp, Katherine Sokolowski, Christopher Lehman, and a host of others who created the #nerdlution Thanksgiving night. You are inspiring.

The #nerdlution reminds me of the words of the great Arlo Guthrie, whose “Alice’s Restaurant” is a Thanksgiving tradition for my family: “And can you, can you imagine fifty people a day? I said fifty people a day…And friends, they may think it’s a movement.”

And so it is.

Who wants to join in?

Leave a Reply

